The bad news is that Western Carolina University has lost two members of its Board of Trustees. The good news is that WCU now is very well-represented on the University of North Carolina Board of Governors, with four former trustees serving on the UNC system’s policy-making body.

Earlier this year, the N.C. House of Representatives elected Asheville attorney Carolyn Coward, who had been serving as WCU board secretary, to the Board of Governors, while the N.C. Senate elected former Raleigh mayor Thomas H. Fetzer, a trustee at WCU since 2015, to the UNC board.

They joined fellow former WCU trustees W. Louis Bissette Jr., an Asheville attorney who is serving as chairman of the UNC board, and C. Philip Byers MPA ’99, a Rutherford County educational foundation executive.

Filling the remaining two years of the terms of Coward and Fetzer on the WCU board are Timothy W. Haskett ’82 MBA ’84 of Kings Mountain and Rebecca H. Schlosser ’73 of Greensboro. Haskett, a native of Sylva, has held a variety of finance-related positions during his 32-year career with Duke Energy. A Greensboro resident, Schlosser is a former high school teacher and a current community volunteer.

In addition, Haden Boliek MS ’94 of Fayetteville and Robert C. Roberts of Asheville were appointed to full four-year terms on the WCU board that began July 1. They fill vacancies created as trustees F. Edward Broadwell Jr. of Asheville and Phil Drake of Franklin completed their terms in June.

Boliek is founder of Pediatric Developmental Therapy Inc., a multidisciplinary practice offering speech, physical and occupational therapy. She also hosts the twice-a month “Working Therapist Podcast.” Roberts is regional executive vice president for First Citizens Bank & Trust Co. and serves as chairman of the Greater Asheville Regional Airport Authority.

Appointments to the WCU board were approved by the Board of Governors, which also endorsed the reappointments of trustees Gaither Keener ’72 of Mooresville and Kenny D. Messer ’86 of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, to four-year terms.

In addition, the General Assembly reappointed Joyce Conseen Dugan ’75 MAEd ’81 of Cherokee and John R. Lupoli of Highlands to four-year terms.