Program held to honor service-learning excellence

Students, faculty and staff from across the Western Carolina University community were recognized at the 13th annual Service-Learning Awards program held April 20 in the conference room at Blue Ridge Hall.

Honorees included:

Faculty members leading STAR Projects that highlight WCU’s top engagement efforts: Scott Eldredge, Heather Mae Erickson, Jennifer Hinton, Mary Anna LaFratta, Amy Murphy-Nugen, Brian Railsback, Elizabeth Sexton, Ellen Sigler, Diane Styers and Andrew Virtue.

Regional award winners: Lane Perry, director of service learning, Gulf South Summit Practitioner Award; and student Joanna Woodson, N.C. Campus Compact Community Impact Award, Andrew Goodman Foundation Hidden Hero Award and Gulf South Summit Student Award.

Meritorious Service Award recognizing faculty and staff for meaningful support for service learning: Scott Eldredge, Jeremiah Haas, Jessica Weiler and Kelsey Woodford.

Partnership Award recognizing agencies or their representatives for effective collaboration: Adam Bigelow, Cullowhee Community Garden; Cullowhee Valley School; Karol Farris, Ukirk; Heather Gates, WNC Health Network; the Hermitage Assisted Living Facility; and the Jackson County Department on Aging.

Leading Light Award recognizing academic departments or programs for exemplary integration of service learning into the curriculum: Doctor of Physical Therapy Program, Inclusive Education Program, Nutrition and Dietetics Program and Social Work Program.

Community Service Award recognizing outstanding participation by faculty and staff in volunteer and community service projects: Erin Adams, Russell Binkley, Patricia Bricker, Cheryl Clark, Cheryl Conway, Kim Hudson, Jessie Swigger, Ashley Hyatt, Betty Torrell and Kelsey Woodford.

Teaching Award recognizing faculty and staff who demonstrate excellence in using service learning as a teaching and learning strategy: Patricia Bricker, Cheryl Clark, Cheryl Conway, Andrew Denson, Kim Hudson, Ashley Hyatt, Charlie Parrish, Brian Railsback, Sherry Robison, Baldwin Sanders, Betty Torrell and Beth Wall-Bassett.

Research Award recognizing faculty and staff for notable research on or related to service learning: Betty Farmer, Lane Perry and Steve Ha; and Bob Lahm, Lane Perry, Zach Rumble and Annika Shauer.

Lily Community Engagement Award recognizing students who earn 100 points for participating in and reflecting on direct service, awareness/advocacy events and donation/philanthropy programs: Sutton Atha, Mackenzie Ceraso, Sergio Chavez, April Duke, Tiffany Earley, D’Myia Gause, Brittany Goodman, Madison Jordan, Lindsey Lail, Kristen Metcalf, Tiffany Moore, Brittany Moran, Elissa Nelson, Christina Parker, Erin Phillips, Michelle Powers, Autumn Reed, Shelby Spruill, Elizabeth Taylor, Brynna Tremblay, Bretney Waller, Kaylynn Wilson and Kaley-Ann Wisher. (Nelson and Parker received the Lily Award with Distinction.)

Jacob Spencer Medford Scholarship recognizing students, including some incoming freshmen, who have demonstrated exemplary commitment to community service and academic achievement: Antonia Atkinson, Delanghy Burke, Gabriel Dillard, Summer Glisson, Erica Hamilton Patterson, Ariel Malphrus, Hannah Marler and Noah Sautter.

Community Service Award recognizing students for outstanding participation in volunteer or community service projects: Katherine Balough, Allison Cochran, Kenneth Flinchum, Michelle Frerich, Shannon Lane, Briana McManus, Dylan Morgan, Christina Parker, Michelle Stephens, Emma Tate, Hlekani Totten and Cristina Werthwine.

Community Service Award recognizing students organizations for outstanding participation in volunteer and community service projects: Art Education Club, Beyond Clinic Walls, Dance Marathon, Honors College Student Board, Management Club, Student Democracy Coalition, Student Veteran Association and The Ripple Effect.

Outstanding Student Achievement Award recognizing individual students and course-based groups for academic excellence in the service-learning component of a course: Catamount Communications, Entrepreneurship 195 – Community Garden, Entrepreneurship 195 – Chartering NAMI on Campus, Nursing 423 – WNCAP Needle Exchange, Nutrition and Dietetics 422 – Jackson County Council on Aging, Social Work 364 – Boys and Girls Club, Social Work 364 – Expanding NAMI on Campus, Social Work 364 – Food Insecurity Assessment, Social Work 364 – Voter Outreach, Nathan Hedrick and Samuel Sinyard.

Shining Star Award recognizing student leaders for outstanding contributions and demonstrated commitment to promoting service learning: Ashley Creason, Kenneth Flinchum, Hannah Fraser, Katherine Morrow, Breana Steele, Michelle Stephens, Steven Tate, Joshua Vance, Leann Ward, Kaylynn Wilson and Joanna Woodson.