Region’s top mathematics students take honors at WCU contest

Buncombe County schools dominated recently as Western Carolina University hosted its 44th annual High School Mathematics Contest, an event that brought about 350 of the region’s top high school and junior high school mathematics students to campus to compete for individual and school awards.

The students, representing 22 schools, also were hoping to earn the right to advance to state mathematics contest finals. WCU, part of a statewide contest network, offered competition in three divisions: Level 1 for students taking Math 1, Level 2 for Math 2 and 3 students, and Comprehensive for students taking a math class beyond Math 3.

Students winning first- through third-place honors and honorable mention in Levels 1 and 2 qualified to advance to state finals that will be held concurrently at the University of North Carolina at Asheville and two other sites across the state on Thursday, May 1. Those who captured first- through third-place or honorable mention from the Comprehensive division qualified for state finals competition set for Thursday, April 24, at the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics in Durham.

Level 1 Division

School winners: First, Asheville Middle School; second, Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy; third, Valley Springs Middle School.

Individual winners: First, Maximilian Ungut, Asheville Middle School; second, Gayeon Nam, Valley Springs Middle School; third, Chloe Craig, Hanger Hall Middle School.

Honorable mention: Art Schell, Asheville Middle School; Pierce Robinson, Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy; Audrey Dockendorf, Hanger Hall Middle School; Corey McVay, Cane Creek Middle School; Thomas Kane, Cane Creek Middle School; Luis Mendoza, Thomas Jeffferson Classical Academy; Peter Oliphant, Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy; Ayla Dunham, Asheville Middle School.

Level 2 Division

School winners: First, T.C. Roberson High School; second, Asheville Homeschool Math Club; third, Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy.

Individual winners: First, Keshav Kumar, T.C. Roberson High School; second, Abhshek Das, T.C. Roberson High School; third, tie between Sahil Gupta, Carolina Day School, and Anna Zhang, Asheville Christian Academy.

Honorable mention: Rio Jackson, Asheville Homeschool Math Club; Jacob Palko, T.C. Roberson High School; Erin Tevis, Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy; Thomas Norell, Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy; Aeron McConnell, Asheville Homeschool Math Club; Noah Sherrill, North Buncombe High School; William Reeder, Asheville Homeschool Math Club; Ami Patel, T.C. Roberson High School; Payton Newfont, North Buncombe High School; Syon Chand, T.C. Roberson High School; Lexi Kloeppel, Franklin High School; Alice Widman, T.C. Roberson High School; Bailey Adams, Franklin High School.

Comprehensive Division

School winners: First, T.C. Roberson High School; second, North Buncombe High School; third, A.C. Reynolds High School.

Individual winners: First, Moshe Feldman, T.C. Roberson High School; second, Alvin Zhang, T.C. Roberson High School; third, Tristan Sullin, A.C. Reynolds High School.

Honorable mention: Jake Baker, North Buncombe High School; Kristie Kim, Asheville High School; Bryan Vogel, North Buncombe High School; Kevin Rash, T.C. Roberson High School; Suhani Gupta, Carolina Day School; Chan Siu Kei, North Buncombe High School; Jeongyeon Kim, Asheville Christian Academy; Andrew Murphy, Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy.

The contest was sponsored by WCU’s Department of Mathematics and Computer Science. For more information, contact Axelle Faughn, WCU associate professor of mathematics, at 828-227-3829 or