Six to be inducted into WCU Athletics Hall of Fame

Five former student-athletes representing three different sports and the first Patron Award recipient since 2005 comprise the six-person, 2013 Western Carolina University Athletic Hall of Fame class. The 24th induction class in school history will be placed into the Athletics Hall of Fame on the weekend of Friday, Oct. 18, and Saturday, Oct. 19, with a special on-field recognition during the Catamounts’ home football game against Southern Conference foe, Wofford, on Oct. 19.

Christy Attebery Kennelly (Volleyball, 1998-2001), Al “Mutt” DeGraffenreid (Football, 1974-76; Coach, 1977-96), Frankie King (Men’s Basketball, 1993-95), David L. Jones (Men’s Basketball, 1957-60), George “Ronnie” Scott (Football, 1964-66) and the 11th Patron Award recipient, Alden McCracken, make up the 2013 induction class, the largest group since 2010.

Visit for the full story.