All-District Band coming to campus Friday, Saturday

Western Carolina University’s School of Music and Director of Bands John West will welcome the 2013 western regional All-District Band to campus Friday and Saturday, Feb. 8-9.

More than 350 middle and high school band musicians from throughout Western North Carolina were selected to participate in the All-District Band after going through a rigorous audition process, West said.

The students will spend two days at WCU rehearsing with guest clinicians and then present a concert in the John W. Bardo Fine and Performing Arts Center on Feb. 9. The concert will begin with the Middle School Concert Band at 3:30 p.m., followed by the Middle School Symphonic Band at 4:15 p.m., the High School Band (ninth and tenth grades) at 5 p.m., and the Senior High Band (eleventh and twelfth grades) at 5:45 p.m. The concert is open to the public free of charge.

Also as part of the clinic, students will have an opportunity to hear performances by the Smoky Mountain Brass Quintet and WCU Wind Ensemble on Feb. 8. Both concerts will be held at the Bardo Arts Center are free and open to the public.

The quintet will entertain the students with a 30-minute program beginning at 2:45 p.m. and the Wind Ensemble will perform at 7:30 p.m. The ensemble’s program will include “Resplendent Glory” by Rossano Galante, “Bohemian Dances” by Guy Woolfenden, “Symphony No. 2 – Finale” by Frank Ticheli, “The Speed of Heat” by Julie Giroux, and the last movement of a new clarinet concerto by James David, “Auto ’66,” which will feature WCU clarinet associate professor Shannon Thompson.

Guest clinicians for this year are Joe Allison, professor of music at Eastern Kentucky University; Andrea Brown, assistant director of bands at Georgia Tech; Jony Mabry Brown, a retired band director from Sumter, S.C.; and Amy Shaffer, band director at Asheville Middle School.

Participating students will represent these schools: A.C. Reynolds High, A.C. Reynolds Middle, Apple Valley Middle, Asheville Christian Academy, Asheville High, Asheville Middle, Bethel Middle, Brevard High, Brevard Middle, C.A. Erwin High, C.A. Erwin Middle, Cane Creek Middle, Canton Middle, Charles D. Owen High, Chase High, East Henderson High, East McDowell Junior High, Enka High, Enka Middle, Flat Rock Middle, Franklin High, Hayesville High, Hayesville Middle, Hendersonville High, Hendersonville Middle, McDowell High, Mountain Heritage High, North Buncombe High, North Buncombe Middle, North Henderson High, Owen Middle, Pisgah High, Polk County High, Polk County Middle, Rosman High, Rosman Middle, R.S. Central High, Rugby Middle, Smoky Mountain High, Swain Middle, T.C. Roberson High, Tuscola High, Valley Springs Middle, Waynesville Middle, West Henderson High and West McDowell Junior High.

For more information, call the School of Music at 828-227-7242.