For the Media

The Office of News Services within the Office of Communications and Public Relations at Western Carolina University works with members of the news media as they cover the activities of the university and its students, faculty and staff. From getting news of student achievements to hometown newspapers to connecting reporters with faculty experts, the Office of News Services is responsible for releasing all university news. The Department of Athletics releases WCU’s athletic news.

News
Dean’s List
Recent Graduates

Questions? Contact us.

 

WRITERS/EDITORS

Bill Studenc
Senior Director of News Services
828-227-3083
bstudenc@wcu.edu

Randall Holcombe
Public Communications Specialist
828-227-3086
rholcomb@wcu.edu

Keith Brenton
Public Communications Specialist
Web Editor/Producer
828-227-3080
wkbrenton@wcu.edu

Teresa Killian Tate
Public Communications Specialist
828-227-3079
killian@wcu.edu

 

PHOTOGRAPHERS

Mark Haskett
828-227-3081
mhaskett@wcu.edu

Ashley Evans
828-227-3199
aevans@wcu.edu

 

VIDEOGRAPHER

Joseph Hader
Video Production
828-227-3085
jshader@wcu.edu

 

SPORTS MEDIA RELATIONS

Daniel Hooker
Assistant Athletics Director for Media Relations
Contact for football, men’s basketball, men’s golf, women’s golf and baseball
828-227-2339
dhooker@wcu.edu

Denise Gideon
Director of Media Relations
Contact for women’s soccer, women’s basketball, softball and social media
828-227-2336
dgideon@wcu.edu

Kevin Young
Director for Media Relations
Contact for cross country, volleyball, men’s basketball, women’s tennis, men’s indoor and outdoor track and field, women’s indoor and outdoor track and field
828-227-2655
kmyoung@wcu.edu

Will Adams
Media Relations Video Coordinator
828-227-2513
rwadams@email.wcu.edu