WCU Communications and Media Contact Information

Office of Communications and Public Relations

Western Carolina University’s Office of Communications and Public Relations serves as the liaison between the university community and news media, and is responsible for releasing all university news with the exception of news related to WCU’s intercollegiate athletics program. The office consists of two units – News Services and Photography/Videography Services.

Our work is guided by the Integrated Marketing and Communications Plan, which was developed in response to the university’s 2020 Vision strategic plan mandate to “ensure that internal and external stakeholders alike are informed about the people, programs, priorities and progress of the university.”

The Office of Communications and Public Relations is located in Suite 420 in H.F. Robinson Administration Building on the WCU campus in Cullowhee, N.C. We can be reached by phone at 828-227-7327 and by snail-mail at this address:

Office of Communications and Public Relations
420 H.F. Robinson Administration Building
Western Carolina University
Cullowhee, NC 28723

Communications and Public Relations Staff

Bill Studenc
Director of Communications and Public Relations
828.227.3083
bstudenc@wcu.edu

News Services

Randall Holcombe
Director of News Services
828.227.3086
rholcomb@wcu.edu

Keith Brenton
Public Communications Specialist
Web Editor/Producer
501.681.3789
wkbrenton@wcu.edu

Geoff Cantrell
Public Communications Specialist
828.227.3079
cgcantrell@wcu.edu

Marlon Morgan
Public Communications Specialist
828.227.3077
mwmorgan@wcu.edu

Photography/Videography Services

Mark Haskett
Director of Photography/Videography Services
828.227.3081
mehaskett@wcu.edu

Ashley Evans
University Photographer
828.227.3199
aevans@wcu.edu

Samuel Wallace
University Videographer
828.227.3085
svwallace@wcu.edu

WCU Department of Athletics

Staff members in WCU’s Department of Athletics oversee news distribution for the university’s sports programs.

Athletics Media Staff

Daniel Hooker
Assistant Athletics Director for Media Relations
Contact for football, men’s basketball, men’s golf, women’s golf and baseball
828.227.2339
dhooker@wcu.edu

Denise Gideon
Director of Media Relations
Contact for women’s soccer, women’s basketball, softball and social media
828.227.2336
dgideon@wcu.edu

Sean Forrester
Director for Media Relations
Contact for cross country, volleyball, men’s basketball, women’s tennis, men’s indoor and outdoor track and field, women’s indoor and outdoor track and field
828.227.2655
stforrester@wcu.edu

Will Adams
Media Relations Video Coordinator
828.227.2458
rwadams@email.wcu.edu